Guest interview: Samantha Braham

25 Apr

Thanks to Sam Braham for being the latest UK Krampus Crackers author to guest on this blog, revealing the inspiration behind her flash fiction, what she has in common with Bridget Jones, and her dream of living with the Oompa-Loompas…

You can follow Sam on twitter to find out more about her work. @BrahamSamantha 

DSCN2145Sam at the Krampus Crackers launch event in Leeds.

Describe yourself in 50 words or less:

I’m a writer who doesn’t write as often as I should! I have a busy life so it’s hard to fit everything in. But I’m also a paradox – a busy person who is essentially lazy so any free time is usually spent gazing out the window or eating biscuits.

Why did you become involved in Krampus Crackers and what was the inspiration for your story?

Until about a year ago, I’d never heard of Flash Fiction and then I discovered a couple of American writers on WordPress that write Flash Fiction stories in 100 words. As I have the attention span of a gnat and fail to get beyond page 8 of anything I write, I thought this could be just the thing for me. I’d just finished writing my first ever Flash Fiction piece, Wishes, when I heard about the Krampus Crackers project. I enjoyed the challenge of writing Wishes so decided to try and write a story about Krampus, despite not having any idea who or what he was. After researching his myth and legend, I was struck by his increasing commercial popularity; in particular with chocolate-makers in Austria. I began to wonder what Krampus would make of it all and, from there, came the story.

What are you working on at the moment and can you give us a sentence from your current Work In Progress?

I’m currently working on pieces I’ve previously written. I’m rewriting/editing two pieces of Flash Fiction and a short play. I find it helps to put some distance between myself and my writing so that I can come back to it with fresh eyes. Sometimes I even surprise myself as it isn’t as bad as I originally thought! A line from my short play Lara and Liam (a working title, I’m rubbish at thinking up titles) is “If your Mam were like mine you’d understand.”

What’s your proudest writing achievement so far?

That would be the Krampus Crackers project. The whole thing was an amazing experience for a new writer like me. The opportunity to have a story I had written placed in a cracker and left in venues around Leeds for other to read and – fingers crossed – enjoy was fantastic. That would have been enough in itself but I also got to have my story illustrated, attend a fabulous launch event and have my story read by the Liars’ League in London by a professional actor. Wow, what an experience and I loved every minute of it! A big thank you to Vicky for organising and running the project. She did a tremendous job!

What novel do you wish you had written?

That’s a difficult question as there are so many I love and admire. I suppose I should say something intellectual or cool, quirky and edgy but instead I’m going to say anything by Roald Dahl. Not a novel writer but, for me, the supreme story-teller. Widely fantastic, completely original and totally anarchic! As a child, I was obsessed with Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I dreamed of being one of the lucky five children who finds a Golden Ticket and is allowed inside Willy Wonka’s factory. Of course, not being a spoilt, over-indulged brat I would be the last one standing, inherit Wonka’s factory and spend the rest of my days surrounded by chocolate and Oompa-Loompas.

If you could only have 3 books for the rest of your life, which 3 would you choose?

Aaarrrggghhh! What an awful question! Ok, I’m going to make this decision on what I do read time and time again, and also on having a bit of variety in my reading if I’m only allowed to ever read three books again.

1 – Bridget Jones’ Diary – I think one of the reasons Bridget Jones is so successful is that most women can see a bit of Bridget in themselves. From dating disasters to messing-up at work, worrying about how many calories I’ve eaten, and drinking too much alcohol and smoking too many fags (I gave up fags many years ago. Can’t say the same for the booze though), I can place a huge tick next to each one and howl with laughter every time I read this book. Also, Helen Fielding’s inspiration came from Pride and Prejudice, which is another of my favourite novels. She paid homage by creating her own Mr. Darcy whilst I did the same by giving one of my daughters the middle name of Elizabeth. Sad, I know.

2 – To Kill a Mocking Bird – Despite loving English, the only book I read for my ‘O’ level English Literature (yes, I’m that old) and enjoyed was this one. Enjoyed is an understatement, it totally blew me away and I read it in two days. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve read it since. This book should be on everyone’s top ten reading list.

3 – Great Expectations or The Harry Potter Series – Getting tricky now. I didn’t read Great Expectations until a few years ago. Since then I’ve read it three or four times. I was hooked from the first couple of pages but, what do you expect, it’s a Dickens. Harry Potter isn’t even in the same league, I know, but the truth is I’m a massive Harry Potter nerd. Just recently my twin daughters have developed their own Harry Potter obsessions. When we’re not reading the books or watching the films you can often find them in Gryffindor robes pretending to be Hermione or Ginny. So for the shared family experience I’m going to choose Harry Potter because it would be a shame if my children didn’t have all this wonderful magic in their lives. And I know I’m cheating because there are seven books in the Harry Potter series but I’ve always been one to bend the rules; especially if it’s to my advantage.

Thanks very much Sam, and sorry for asking difficult questions!

4 Responses to “Guest interview: Samantha Braham”

  1. thekidshavegonetoschool April 25, 2015 at 6:48 pm #

    Reblogged this on thekidshavegonetoschool and commented:
    An interview I recently did for the lovely Vicky. Check out her blog, What Vicky did next. You’ll love it!

  2. thekidshavegonetoschool April 25, 2015 at 6:49 pm #

    Thank you Vicky for blogging my ramblings!

    • vickykpointing April 26, 2015 at 7:58 am #

      Thanks for answering my random questions! I really enjoyed your answers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

